Lions president inducted, new members welcomed

Malcolm McCormick, Kathy Desaunois, Lions president Sue Kinnell, Hylton Conacher and Zeta Booysen.

The Fish Hoek Lions Club inducted its new president, Sue Kinnell, during a breakfast on Saturday July 6. It also welcomed four new members, Malcolm McCormick, Kathy Desaunois, Hylton Conacher and Zeta Booysen, bringing the club’s membership to 14. Ms Kinnell said the club had only had five members last year, and her only goal had been to keep the club alive. “And today it is alive and thriving,” she said.

Ms Kinnell also received the President’s Appreciation Award, and she presented Lion Ewan Smith with a certificate recognising his 44 years of dedicated service to the club.

Lion Tania Lindeque received the Lion of the Year award for outstanding service and dedication
to the club. Second vice district general and member of the
Newlands Lions Club Aidan
Ewers surprised the club with a president’s board listing past
presidents stretching back 47

The club’s original board went missing a few years ago.

In her acceptance speech, Ms Kinnell thanked the members for believing in her.

“We need to be there for one another and grow together as a family and a team. It’s all about serving the community,” she