Dragons defend Cape Premier League title

Devil’s Peak Dragons successfully defended their CPL title with a 39-run win against District Sixers.

Devil’s Peak Dragons successfully defended their Cape Premier League (CPL) title a week ago when they beat District Sixers in the final played at Western Province Cricket Club’s Wally Wilson Oval.

The second title puts Dragons at the top of the successful sides in the four-year existence of the competition.

Cape Vikings are the only other side to win the CPL with one year of the competition suspended because of Covid-19.

The franchise, which is led by Siraaj Conrad, had a couple of standout performers throughout the competition.

Taariq Chiecktey won man of the match in the final, James Crawson was the highest run scorer for the side with 194, and Tim Whitehead took home the bowler of the tournament award.

Chiecktey scored 68 off 42 in the final to lead his side to a total of 165 in 18 overs. Dragon’s bowlers defended the total with ease at the back of Whitehead’s 4/32. Whitehead also had a runout to accompany his four wickets as they bowled Sixers for 126, giving Dragons a 39-run win.

After finishing top of the eight-team log after the round-robin round, the Dragons faced SGG Outlaws in the semi-finals.

Having been set a total of 127 to chase in that match, the Dragons reached their target in 16.2 overs with eight wickets to spare. Crawson was the main catalyst with his unbeaten 52 off 35.

Whitehead’s 19 wickets were the highest in the tournament, three more than his closest rival.

Despite losing the final, the Sixers finished the tournament with the top two of the highest run-getters in Givon Christian and Daniel Smith who were the only batters to go over the 300 mark, scoring 368 and 321, respectively.

Dragons’ Tim Whitehead led all bowlers in the competition with 19 wickets to his name.
Dragons’ batsman Taariq Chiecktey had a man of the match performance in the final, top scoring with 68 runs.