Designated fireworks sites announced

Persons under 16 are not allowed to use fireworks.
The City of Cape Town has designated 11 public open spaces for the discharge of fireworks on Guy Fawkes, Diwali as well as for New Year’s Eve.

Those who want to partake in the discharge of fireworks to mark Guy Fawkes and Diwali next month will have access to 11 sites designated for this purpose.

Guy Fawkes takes place on Monday November 5 and the Hindu Festival of Lights, Diwali, follows two days later.

The public will only be allowed to discharge fireworks at Athlone Stadium parking area (eastern side), Wesfleur sports field in Atlantis, Bishop Lavis sports field, Metropolitan sports grounds in Bonteheuwel, Blue Downs sports field, Delft Central sports grounds, Macassar Beach parking area, Swartklip sports complex,  Sarepta sports complex, Strandfontein Pavilion and Tourism Centre on Table View beachfront.

All designated fireworks areas will be patrolled by City law enforcement and Metro police as well as a fire inspector to ensure the safety of all concerned. 

The discharge of fireworks will not be allowed after 11pm on Guy Fawkes and Diwali, with New Year’s Eve being the exception.

If you have information relating to the illegal sale or use of fireworks, report this to the City’s Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cellphone; or to the South African Police Service on 10111.