Four new approved sites on City’s fireworks list

The City of Cape Town has approved 12 sites for the discharge of fireworks during Guy Fawkes, Diwali and New Year’s Eve this year. This is up from eight last year.

The list was approved after consultation between emergency services, law enforcement, and the various sub-councils. It is hoped that the increase in the number of sites will stop the discharge of fireworks from unsupervised areas.

There are no approved sites in the far sSouth.

After consultation with the sub-councils, the following sites have been approved for the discharge of fireworks:

Strandfontein Pavilion, Strandfontein

Swartklip sports complex, Swartklip Road, Mitchell’s Plain

Tourism Centre, Athens Road, Table View beachfront (Killarney Racetrack is being considered as an alternative site for New Year’s Eve)

Wesfleur sports field, Reygersdal Drive, Atlantis

Bishop Lavis sports field, Lavis Drive, Bishop Lavis

Metropolitan sports grounds, Melkhout Street, Bonteheuwel

Delft Central sports grounds, Main Road, Delft

Athlone Stadium parking area (eastern side), Klipfontein Road, Athlone

Maiden’s Cove parking area, Victoria Road, Camps Bay

Sarepta sports complex

Blue Downs sports field

Macassar Beach parking area, Macassar Road, Macassar

All designated fireworks areas will be patrolled by City Law Enforcement and Metro police as well as a fire inspector. Anyone under the age of 16 is not permitted to discharge fireworks and 11pm is the cut-off time on both Guy Fawkes and Diwali, with New Year’s Eve being the exception.

“I hope that residents can appreciate the massive logistical exercise we deal with every year, as well as the costs associated with deploying staff to all of these areas. We could look at designating more sites, but we simply do not have the budget or the resources.

“I appeal to members of the public to use fireworks responsibly to prevent injuries, and to take into account the effect fireworks have on those residents who do not partake in these activities. We have confiscated fireworks in previous years and issued fines for the illegal discharge of fireworks and we will do so again this year if need be,” said JP Smith, Mayco member for safety and security.

Members of the public with information relating to the illegal sale or use of fireworks should report this to the Metro police call centre on 0860 765 423 or to the South African Police Service on 10111. General emergencies can be directed via the City’s Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cellphone.